Story of My Life – Being Vulnerable with Tawwakul

Bismillah

Back stabbed, disappointed, judged, dissed and the plethora of words that come from similar meaning of words is THE DEFINITION of our lives these days. A quick under or incomplete analysis will lead most of us to think “that is a pretty sad life” – I beg to differ because that is just one side of the coin.

Vulnerability or as I call it “leap of Faith” is something synonymous to many believing muslims (not sure -> make isteqara -> extremely scared to death but then you end up doing it anyway *read before marriage drill here-regardless of arranged/love*).

Personally vulnerability coupled with tawwakul has blessed me with amazing friendships, strong relations, happiness, gratitude and contentment and much more to encapsulate in a single blog post.

I leave you with this thought “When we prevent ourselves from being vulnerable we miss out on a lot of good stuff along with the bad stuff”. Here’s to loving with our whole hearts even though there is no guarantee – To being Vulnerable and Happy! 🙂

If you are reading this do let me know if you are a vulnerable person and if you are happy or sad being so.

Ibn Rajab Al-Hanbali said, “the fruit of tawakkul is the acceptance of Allah’s decree. Whoever leaves his affairs to Allah and then is accepting of what he is given has truly relied on Allah. Al-Hassan and others among the salaf defined tawakkul as ridhaa (acceptance).” (Jami’ Al-’Uloom wa Al-Hikam : A Commentary on 50 Major Hadith)

“As I look back on my life, I realize that every time I thought I was being rejected from something good; I was actually being re-directed to something better. You must convince your heart that whatever Allah has decreed is most appropriate and most beneficial for you.”
– Imam al-Ghazali

Leave a Reply

